Software602 Home . products . download . support . register . how to buy . . view cart . . . contact us . . . .
Software602 Home . . . . . .
. .
Software602 Login
E-mail:
Password:
forgot?
Support Home .
User Forum .
Knowledge Base .
Submit Ticket .
View My Tickets .
. .
602LAN SUITE 2004 User Forumforum home | rss | search | terms of use
BackBack to 602LAN SUITE 2004 Forum
Add New TopicAdd New Topic
Post ReplyPost Reply
Attack on POP3 Port 110
  Posted by  Andrew Fung  on Thursday, June 22, 2006 at 7:51:42 AM (EST)
I have been using LS since LS2002 and running in 2 office locations - one unlimited licence and anothe 25 licence (just upgraded last week from LS2002 ).

Then starting yesterday our LS2004 server have rec'd a lot of POP3 log-in attempts ( using my mail account and I think even with correct password), these log-in come from all over the world and all with proper PTR record and not SPAM site. The attacks happen almost every 10 minutes ( sometimes multiple site attack the same time). So I change my password and the log show incorrect password was used.

So last night and also 1 hours ago, I have moved a lot of these IP address to the blocked sites using my Pc-cillin program and in the Pc-cillin log still show a lot of attacks. And the attacks indicate that it want to evoke lansuite.exe.

Has anyone got similar experience and any suggestion to solve it?

Many thanks.
  Posted by Russell Waddington  on Thursday, June 22, 2006 at 3:40:25 PM (EST)
I would check your machines out for malware/spyware/trojans. It seems like you have a keyboard logger on a machine.

If a machine is not protected it can get taken over by a netbot. A single person can control hundreds, even thousands of computers through netbots. They can use thier empire of netbots to attack other people, so the log in attempts can seem to be coming from legitimate machines. But these machines have been infect by trojans.