Software602 Home . products . download . support . register . how to buy . . view cart . . . contact us . . . .
Software602 Home . . . . . .
. .
Software602 Login
E-mail:
Password:
forgot?
Support Home .
User Forum .
Knowledge Base .
Submit Ticket .
View My Tickets .
. .
602LAN SUITE 2004 User Forumforum home | rss | search | terms of use
BackBack to 602LAN SUITE 2004 Forum
Add New TopicAdd New Topic
Post ReplyPost Reply
SMTP receive error:forcibly closed
  Posted by  Scott Fox  on Friday, March 18, 2005 at 7:30:01 PM (EST)
I've been receiving outside smtp mail to my mail server for several months.

On thursday of this week it stopped working. I am unaware of any changes to the server or 604 lansuite configuration, though I don't discount that possibility.

I've read the knowledgebase and found this fine article:

KB879: Unable to receive mail from outside hosts to 602LAN SUITE via SMTP.

It unfortunately doesn't say what to do if outside hosts are indeed connecting to 604lansuite but the connection is being closed.

The connection in the log is:

5:14:59 PM SMTP: [4] 'web31510.mail.mud.yahoo.com' [68.142.198.139] connected.
5:14:59 PM SMTP: [4] SMTP connection to 'web31510.mail.mud.yahoo.com' established.
5:14:59 PM SMTP: [4] Connection error (Winsock: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.).

Can anyone please assist in this?
  Posted by Robert Smith  on Monday, March 21, 2005 at 9:39:53 AM (EST)
Right off hand, I can only think of one thing that'll cause this, Yahoo has you blocked or you're on some kind of blacklist. You can fix this by sending mail through your ISP's SMTP server..that can be configured on the SMTP tab in the adv configuration.
  Posted by Scott Fox  on Monday, March 21, 2005 at 10:39:02 AM (EST)
The originator makes no difference, and you'll note this is mail actually attempting a connection.